Energy Technology Department was established to address energy and environmental issues through training and research. The department focuses on training and research in energy resources, generation, utilization and conversion technologies . We recognize that energy is a dominant development component for any nation or community. For this reason, we appreciate the urgency of developing new energy technologies as well as using the existing resources more efficiently and in a sustainable manner.

Kenya’s vision 2030 places energy among the six main pillars of development. This has resulted to more effort and support from the government and other institutions, which Kenyatta University is part of, to explore and exploit more energy resources, both conventional and renewable energy sources, such as solar energy, bio-energy, geothermal energy, wind energy, hydropower, coal, natural gas and petroleum. With continued increase in the demand and cost of energy in Kenya and around the world, there is now an urgent demand for a well trained workforce to develop, process, utilize and manage conventional, unconventional and renewable energy sources in an environmentally safe and economically feasible way.

Our Energy Technology programmes are designed to develop graduates who will address the national as a well as the global challenges in the energy sector. Graduates from the program will be involved in a wide range of careers that may include: finding the most efficient and sustainable ways to operate buildings and manufacturing processes, energy analysis and auditing, development of renewable energy system and technologies, managing the integration of renewable energy generation into existing power systems, energy systems installation and commissioning, project management, energy consultancy, formulation of future energy policies, among others.


To produce world class Energy Technologists for the energy sector.

To train Energy Technologists who are equipped with skills to serve in the conventional and emerging

External Links

  1. University of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Derhadun- India
  2. China University of Petroleum Beijing- China
  3. Kenya Electricity Generating Company (Kengen)
  4. Ministry of Energy and Petroleum (MOEP)National Oil Corporation of Kenya (NOCK)

Academic Staff and Specialization

  1. Dr. Joseph Muguthu
  2. Dr. Francis Namu Njoka - Chairman
  3. Mr. Elias Ako 
  4. Dr. Osodo Booker Onyango
  5. Mr. Samuel Maina Ngure
  6. Veronica Ngunzi
  7. Emmanuel Yeri
  8. Ms. Kay Nyaboe Nyakundi
  9. Teddy Miller Samo

External Part time Lecturers

1. Benard Ogonji
2. Dr. Maina Muriithi
3. Eng. Jonathan Kimeu

Academic Programs
Currently the department offers the following degree courses;
a. BSc. Energy Technology (4 Years Program)
b. MSc. Renewable Energy Technology (2 Years Program)
c. PhD. Renewable Energy Technology (3 Years Program)

Entry Requirments
BSc. Energy Technology
Students wishing to pursue a BSc. Energy Technology program must satisfy the following conditions;
a. The minimum entry requirment for the School of Engineering and Technology.
b. The candidate must have attained the following minimum grades at KCSE or equivalent qualifications;
Mean C+ and in addition attained the following grades:
Mathematics B+
Physics B+
Chemistry B
Engilish B

MSc. Renewable Energy Technology
Students wishing to pursue a MSc. Renewable Energy Technology program must satisfy the following conditions;
a. Bachelor of science/Bachelor of Education (Science with at least Second Class Honours (Upper Division) with specialization in appropriate branch of Engineering, Technology, Chemistry, Environmental Sciences or Biological Sciences)
b. Those with Second Class (Lower Division) may be considered on condition that they attained Grade “C” and above in units relevant to there area of specialization.

PhD. Renewable Energy Technology
Masters Degree in or its equivalent from Kenyatta University or any other recognized institution.